KNOX UNITED CHURCH PARKSVILLE

Congregational Meeting Sunday, October 29, 2017

WELCOME: Wayne Larson, Acting Chair of Council, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER: Wayne Larson called the meeting to order at 11:25 AM

IN ATTENDANCE: Bill & Jan Laurie, Caroline Hammill, Kathy Larson, Ken & Gail Armstrong, Marian & Ron Schiefke, Anne & Ian Ward, John & Marianne O'Brien, Brenda Carvell, Marj Wilkie, Betty Harrower, Marion Barclay, Lorna Kobelak, Gayle Mascho, Alice Dueck, Mary Ellen Campbell, Bill & Claire Jesse, Roxey & Al Edwards, Jo & Sandy Dunn, Lynne Pearson, June & Bruce McIntyre, Cathy McNeil, Ann Harrison, Yvonne Sinnott, Rosemary Callaway, Marion MacKenzie, Bob McInnes, Larry & Nancy Newland, Anne Marie Provencal, Martha Pow, Jennifer Ferguson, Norm & Dulcie Spice, Linda Skogstad, Bob & Marilou Paterson, George Pearson, Margo Pearson, Shane & Marg Conn, Jeanne & John Brownell, Tony Nahon, Kathleen Howard, Anne George, Alison Stewart, Delaine Walsh, Greta Oak, Leslie Dabb, Ruth Haughn, Gayle Haughn, Maureen Loudon, Donna Kennedy, Debbie Botelho, Lois & Francis Grill, Cathy McInnes, George Sheard, Paul Vincent, Joan Schaning, Shirlene Donnelly, Sharon Ainslie, Jenn Warburton, Barry Ainslie, Miriam Gunn, Bob Ashton, Carol Ross, Barb & Rick Roberts, Margaret Warburton, Beth Brown, Joan & Bev Harrison, Kathy Grand, Ken Fanning, Sandra Machan, Mary Anne Slack, Ken Tully, Harvey Diamond, Morganne Pickering

Motion: That the Secretary of Council, Linda Nelson, be the Secretary for the meeting. Moved by Jo Dunn and seconded by Cathy McNeil. Carried.

Dedication: Maureen Loudon, a member of the Healing and Pastoral care Team, read the names of those who have passed on in the period July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017.

Voting Procedures: Unless there is a motion to the contrary, votes will be by show of hands (policy adopted June 12, 2016).

Motion: That adherents be allowed to vote on temporal matters. Moved by June McIntyre and seconded by Ian Ward. Carried.

Minutes of Annual Congregational Meeting, June 18, 2017: they are included in the Annual Report

Motion: That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of June 18, 2017 be approved. Moved by Cathy McNeil and seconded by Jeanne Brownell. Carried.

2016-2017 Annual Report and Financial Statements:

Motion: That the Annual Report and Financial Statements for 2016-2017 be approved. Moved by Ron Schiefke and seconded by Marion Barclay. Carried.

Recommendation from Council:

Motion: That the Team Lead for Ministry & Personnel be a member of Council Executive. Moved by Wayne Larson and seconded by Lorna Kobelak. Carried.

Recommendations from Nominations Team:

Motion: That Andrew Slack be appointed as a Trustee, with a term ending June 30, 2021, replacing Stan Nestibo who has tendered his resignation.

Moved by Lynne Pearson and seconded by Ken Fanning. Carried.

Motion: That Maureen Loudon be appointed Co-Lead for the Healing & Pastoral Care Team.

Moved by Lynne Pearson and seconded by Ken Fanning. Carried.

Motion: That Council be authorized to fill any vacancies that exist or may arise.

Moved by Lynne Pearson and seconded by Ken Fanning. Carried.

Recommendation from Outreach & Social Justice:

Motion: That the Knox Mission & Service Goal for 2018 be \$37,000. Moved by Alison Stewart and seconded by Donna Kennedy. Carried.

Closing Remarks and Adjournment:

Wayne Larson acknowledged the Communications Team for their work on the Annual Report. He invited Team Lead Jo Dunn to come up and introduce the Communications team members. Jo also talked briefly about the new format for the report and thanked Lynn Holloway for all of her hard work on this project.

Adjournment:	nt: Wayne Larson adjourned the meeting at 11:40 AM.		
	ayne Larson	Linda Nelson	
Actin	g Chair of Council	Secretary	